9. Musical Healing

I Thank God everyday from as young as I can remember until today, for giving me the gift of music. I was blessed with a rare talent that allows me to play the piano, keyboards, organs or any type of keys by ear. From as long as I can remember, I was able to hear a piece of music no matter how short or long, and play it back blindfolded. Still today, this gift has been what has kept me alive. I will always be thankful and blessed by this talent. Just the sight of a beautiful grand piano melts my heart. Like showing a kid a huge wall of candy. I am drawn to music and love the fact that I not only able to create some beautiful pieces but I can also recreate some of my favorite songs and artists. When I was three years old, my sister’s were taking lessons at a studio in a large shopping mall. One day, the studio had a talent show showcasing all the students playing various instruments. I attended the show with my family to watch my sister’s preform. After seeing my sister on the stage playing piano, I apparently made a huge fuss wiggling my way out of my mother’s hold standing in the audience and ran up onto the stage. I sat on the piano as everyone watched giggling and waiting for some true banging noise to take place. I remember playing the theme off the movie “Love Story”. My favorite song back then. I had heard my sister practice it and I was quickly intrigued. I played the song to the end. My fingers could barely reach the keys but I reached them all. To this day, I still remember the applause when I finished. It was then that my family new I had a gift. Music became a huge part of my life. As a child and teenager, my parents always made sure I had the latest technology for synthesizers and a piano. It was my escape. No matter how ugly things got with my father or how bad it was at school, music would always save me. I wrote some of the most beautiful classical pieces of my life that I still play and remember today. My family and our friends always new that I was going to go on and become someone famous from my gift…. and I did. As I approached 15, I found myself not sleeping much anymore. I would spend entire nights on my keyboards writing and creating music. I knew deep down that if I went to bed, my father would find me and have his way with me. I remember going to bed some nights at six in the morning only to get up at seven for school. If staying awake through the night would save me, then so be it. Eventually, my father got smarter and decided to catch me during naps. I began eating to stay awake. I went from one hundred and thirty pounds to one hundred and eighty pounds within six months. Lovely. Another problem to add to my list of problems but guess what? My weight gain began to deter my father. Perhaps he didn’t like fatter girls. Every night turned into every other night so I simply did what was best for the situation at hand….I ate more.

Author: theangelsforgotme

I will be posting whenever I can, until the story is where I am today. I hope this recorded journey helps at least one person overcome their fears. Please scroll down to the beginning. How it all began. This is my story...

Leave a comment