16. The Music & Creativity Conservatory

I was enrolled in the Music Conservatory to continue learning about how to better my gift of music. My music teachers were always fascinated with me. They were fascinated by the fact that my “ear” for music was so precise. I even managed to meet with the head of the conservatory and be commended for my talent. The ability to hear music and play it perfectly the first time whether I new the song or not. I was able to listen to an entire song I never heard before, and recreate it on the piano. The conservatory even went on to experiment with my ear for music allowing a master pianist to play a piece of classical music chosen by only the master. Anywhere from four to seven pages of sheet music. Immediately after playing the piece, they would step down taking the sheet music with them. I would them step up and play back everything I had just heard. I made a few mistakes but pretty much played the entire song. The amazement in their faces made me smile. I felt so food about myself. The piece named “The Valse” was a very difficult piece but I enjoyed the tune making it that much easier to remember it’s catchy bars of music. I began spending a lot of off school time at the Royal Music Conservatory. I was able to access the stage theaters and play on the grand pianos for my enjoyment. My family new I was spending my time when I had it, there.

The Music Conservatory was linked to a college. I remember spending time at my new found home of music, walking around the college feeling so important. Perhaps students thought I was a college student?? I loved it. Being there would probably be the closest thing to college I will perhaps ever see. With my failing school grades, I would never get into college or university. It didn’t matter. I was a member of a famous band. I was beginning to believe the now huge lie, myself! The Music Conservatory was so impressed by my ability to replay music played to me that the master had granted me a grade 9 level of music.  I was able to teach other students how to play by ear. At home, I had such a nice set up of keyboards. A musical work station you could say. I began teaching at the age of fifteen. I had about six or seven students a week. Mostly adults. I was able to teach them how to use there own ear for music. What to listen for. What instruments should stand out more than others. It was fun to teach! They even paid me too! In the late 80’s, $20.00 per hour was pretty good money for a kid. Didn’t really care too much for the money. I had access to however much I needed when I needed it. I had access to private studios and practice rooms whenever I needed them. Perfect opportunity to make my next move which was a crucial move. I hired that ” someone for real” to lie to my parents. Her job was to pretend she was my important teacher that always apparently “needed me” for something within the conservatory giving me my “out” I needed. She was paid $1800.00 a month to answer the phone if my parents called, telling them I was busy practicing and that I would return the call when I was done. She would then immediately contact me and tell me to call my parents. Relaying the message. This little scheme worked. I began to have the freedom away from my home that I longed for. I always had an excuse that was validated by an “adult” my family trusted. I was feeling more free. I was able to do things the cool kids did and not have to worry about my parents finding out or embarrassing me. It was all expensive but well worth it.

Author: theangelsforgotme

I will be posting whenever I can, until the story is where I am today. I hope this recorded journey helps at least one person overcome their fears. Please scroll down to the beginning. How it all began. This is my story...

3 thoughts on “16. The Music & Creativity Conservatory”

Leave a comment