29. What The F#*%?

Coming home after a wonderful weekend was so satisfying. I felt rejuvenated and ready to work. While my album cover was processing and focused on the show. I had a bunch of meetings set with the airport, fire marshals, RCMP, city council and the native Indians that owned the land where we wanted to set up our stage. It was a huge field over looking a beautiful lake surrounded by mountains. We had to get approvals for so many things first. If fireworks were being shot off, could they spark a flame causing a fire? With laser shooting up into the sky as far as the eye could see, would it interfere with air traffic controls? Was there a possibility of a riot having such a large crowd of people in one area? Would the hotels across the lake be affected from the noise? An amazing amount of work would have to go into having all this approved before we had a green light to go ahead. Excitement was mounting. Residents were patiently waiting with excitement that it was happening in their city. It’s not everyday that you get to witness a worlds largest event and not have to pay anything to see it. Within a week and wearing out my security guard’s feet from the amount of walking we had to do, I had all the licenses approved. Only niggle was only being allowed to shoot fireworks over the lake. We intended to only do that anyways! All was coming together so nicely. The week following the coming weekend was to be the week of collecting the sponsorship money promised from our clients. We were approaching March. On the Friday before the weekend my father arrived. He was staying with us for a week before returned home once again. My family had known about the show. They were even involved. That same Friday, I received a phone call from my old place of work at the studio. They told me that the local newspaper, radio and television stations wanted to come interview me about the show! I was so excited. I agreed to see them later that day. During the interview, my eyes started to get sore from all the flashes of pictures. The security jumped in every now and then for giggles. It was always explained why they were with me, when asked. It didn’t have to be secretive. The media was ecstatic over the show coming to town on August 13, 1993. After the long interview I met with some local musicians and interviewed them on their skills to join me on stage for times I would just do vocals. The band would play along with me. The interviews of that evening turned up a drummer and a bassist. I needed another keyboardist and a guitarist. I also needed a few backup singers. I had time. I was not worried. I finally got home, said hello to my father, goodnight to my sister and went to bed. I was exhausted. 

I was so tired I didn’t wake up until one in the afternoon. I had really slept in. My sister, a hairdresser, had gone to work for the day. I walked into the family room and said good morning to my father who was red faced.  He looked so angry. He yelled, “come sit down, I want to talk to you right now”! My fear was the same as when I was little. I felt paralyzed. Needing my coffee, I just went and sat down curious to see what his problem was now. He took a newspaper from the coffee table and threw it at me. He was furious. His temper was so bad and so scary. He would scare even the toughest guys I knew. He was also very violent when he got angry. On the cover of the newspaper was my picture wearing a pair of shades and pulling them down slightly seeing my eyes with keyboards behind me. It was a cool picture! I remember loving my hair. My curls were perfect! It was a great picture. The headline said “Laser Lady About To Wow Our City, Brace Yourself”!! 

It took the entire page with my picture and the write up underneath informing residents of the laser extravaganza that was coming soon. It went on to tell them a bit of musical experience about me and my talents and achievements. I was impressed! 

Why was my father so angry. He went on to tell me that he saw the paper in the morning and called the reporter telling him that this show was NOT going to happen. He would not allow his daughter to do something like this. He will cause a war and a huge scene if it happened. He then went on to tell me that he drove to the newspaper and met him personally, losing his temper at him and demanded he take the published paper and tell people he was not allowing me to do this. He threatened him to contact anyone else that may be advertising this show and put a stop to it. 

I listened to this asshole talk. My heart sank with every word. While he spoke, I looked at his nose, his ugly face, the red color it was and wondered wtf? The scared, nervous, anxious silent feeling was overwhelming. When he was done yelling, I stood up and went to a room, closed the door, locked it and laid down. I was speechless, paralyzed, scared as to what was going to happen now.  What damage had he done? Why did he do that without talking to me first? He knew all about the show so why would he do that? I had so many questions and wanted to beat the crap out of him while I asked them. I needed to calm down first. I needed to take it all in and try to make sense of it. My heart was beating out of my chest in anger. So angry, I was not sure if I could control it or not. My brain went blank and I was scared of myself. My heart area pinched and I couldn’t stop sweating. My left side was tingling.

I watched the sun go down from my window. My father knocked on the door in the evening telling me my sister was home and it was time for dinner in a loving voice. Really? You S.O.B.

Really?

Author: theangelsforgotme

I will be posting whenever I can, until the story is where I am today. I hope this recorded journey helps at least one person overcome their fears. Please scroll down to the beginning. How it all began. This is my story...

One thought on “29. What The F#*%?”

Leave a comment